I have been SUPER behind on my baby gifting projects. I love to give baby gifts to anyone I remotely know, because who doesn’t love giving gifts?! I usually like to give out handmade baby quilts, but my supplies is down and do to the lack of motivation to replenish my stock, I decided to look for alternative ideas.

Let me introduce you to the super fast, easy and creative …. Baby Headbands!

IMG_20140405_174705 (1)

I would love to say I came up with this idea myself, if I did I would be lying, and lying is bad.

This pattern along with the instructions at the below website:

http://www.oneprojectcloser.com/make-fabric-flowers-tutorial/

Click on the French Pouf (circle) with button.

Some additions to the above pattern.

Addition #1 : I used an old small yogurt lid (when yogurt still came with lids, yes I save things, don’t judge, :) ). The lid I used to trace around to give me a perfect circle, and I just used a fabric marker to trace around it.

Addition #2 : When I folded the “sides” of the circle inward to make the circle triangularly shaped I used a small amount of hot glue near the point to glue the folds together. I found after my first attempt you need to do this other wise when you glue the “circle triangle” in the center hot glue dot the circle with just unfold and its a pain and a mess.

Additions #3:  For the headband part, I just purchased some from Hobby Lobby, I am sure any craft store that has the headband/hat making section will have these handy headbands in lots of great colors!

……..

They are super easy. What I love the most is how creative you can get and how each one looks completely different. Even though I have mounds of brand new fabric that is calling my name to be cut into. These flowers though are a great way to use up some of the overflowing scraps that we tell ourselves, “Don’t you dare throw that away! You could use it for something else! Don’t waste perfectly good fabric!” … Well, I hope others tell themselves that. Please tell me I am not the only one who says that to myself.

Believe me I did not stop at the above two… Oh No … I made two more…

This yellow polka dot one has a layer of lace between two layers of regular fabric.

IMG_20140406_175018

I really love this next one. The fabric I am currently using to make a skirt for myself, but I had some scrap fabric left and thought why not!

IMG_20140406_180728

Enjoy making your little girls beautiful!

It’s will always be the simple things that make us happy!