I starting my gardening season on March 20th this year. In past years, I have started my seeds indoors around the 15th of March, but it seems each year the plants are big and hearty and ready to be in the ground around the first of May. The first of May in Nebraska is not ready to see warm loving tomato plants in its ground. It has been known to snow in May! (Some days I wonder why I live here) So this year I decided to wait a few more days and see if it helps.

Before you are able to plant your seeds in the seed starting containers, you have to prepare the dirt the day or night before.

This year I used two bags of this All Purpose Organic Starter Mix, nothing fancy found it at my local Wal-mart.

IMG_20140319_203823

To this I mixed in one bag of this Jiffy Seed Starting Mix (found at Wal-mart also)

IMG_20140319_203818

It should look something like this:

IMG_20140319_203812

Add enough water to make the dirt moist, but not too wet. Let it set over night so it absorbs all the water.

The next morning you are able firmly but gently pack the trays with dirt.

IMG_20140320_100606

Making sure you fill them to the top. Last year I found that I did not pack full enough and the dirt settled leaving the wholes only partly filled in some places.

IMG_20140320_100613

After all the dirt is in place, you are ready to plant the seeds. I use a tweezers because the seeds are so small, plant two seeds per spot and follow the package directions for depth.

I have found heat mats and grow lights are the only way to go. It gives the right amount of heat and light to keep the plants happy. You can purchase them at any store that has gardening supplies.

And the exciting part….. Three – five days later….

IMG_20140324_111540  IMG_20140324_111551

Tomorrow I will post a picture of what these plants look like today!

Happiness comes from simple times, when people worked and saw the fruits of their labors. And the labors did not make them richer with money, but richer in love.

 

